Connect with us


Spike TV Announces Winners of the 10th Annual Video Game Awards

Spike TV announced the winners for its 10th Annual Video Game Awards (VGA) last night during a live ceremony hosted by film and video game star Samuel L. Jackson. Industry titans gathered as the cable network celebrated the artistic and technical achievements in the gaming universe over the past year during a two-hour global event, which aired at 9pm ET/6pm PT from Sony Picture Studios in Los Angeles. The awards show was simulcast on MTV 2 and MTV Tr3s, and streamed live on Spike’s official website, Game Trailers’ official website and for the first time ever, on Xbox consoles through Xbox Live.

Some of the biggest winners of the ceremony included ‘The Walking Dead: The Game,’ which won Game of the Year, Best Adapted Video Game and Best Downloadable Game. ‘Halo 4’ won two awards, including Best Xbox 360 Game. Fans also cast their ballots for their favorite game from the past ten years on Entertainment Weekly and the VGA’s website, naming ‘Half-Life 2’ the winner. Fans also voted for the Character of the Year on VGA and Spike’s website, giving Claptrap from ‘Borderlands 2′ the honor.

The VGAs also debuted never-before-seen world premieres of the most anticipated games of 2013, including Moby Dick Studios’ ‘The Phantom Pain’ and From Software’s ‘Dark Souls II.’ The ceremony also featured trailers for Naughty Dog’s ‘The Last of Us,’ Epic Games’ ‘Gears of War: Judgment,’ Obsidian Entertainment’s ‘South Park: The Stick of Truth,’ Konami’s ‘Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2,’ 2K Games’ ‘BioShock Infinite,’ Square Enix’s ‘Tomb Raider,’ Ubisoft’s ‘Assassin’s Creed III: The Tyranny of King Washington’ and Microsoft Studios’ ‘Halo 4: Spartan Ops.’

The VGAs treated fans to groundbreaking interactivity that let them play the show as it happened live. Viewer polls affected how the show progressed, such as which video, music, set environments, props and custom exclusive videos they wanted to see next.

Such celebrities as Snoop Lion, Jack Black, Neil Patrick Harris, Jessica Alba, Zachary Levi, Johnny Galecki, Adam Scott and ‘The Walking Dead’s Danai Gurira, Norman Reedus, Steven Yeun and Robert Kirkman all attended the VGAs. Linkin Park also preformed ‘Castle of Glass,’ while Tenacious D ended the show with a performance of ‘Rize Of The Fenix.’ The ceremony also featured an epic musical Game of the Year tribute scored by film and video game composer and Grammy winner Lorne Balfe.

For a complete listing of all the VGA winners, visit Spike TV’s website.

Written by: Karen Benardello

Spike TV Announces Winners of the 10th Annual Video Game Awards

Continue Reading

As a life-long fan of entertainment, particularly films, television and music, and an endless passion for writing, Karen Benardello decided to combine the two for a career. She graduated from New York's LIU Post with a B.F.A in Journalism, Print and Electronic. While still attending college, Karen began writing for Shockya during the summer of 2007, when she began writing horror movie reviews. Since she began writing for Shockya, Karen has been promoted to the position of Senior Movies & Television Editor. Some of her duties in the position include interviewing filmmakers and musicians, producing posts on celebrity news and contributing reviews on albums and concerts. Some of her highlights include attending such festivals and conventions as the Tribeca Film Festival, the New York Film Festival, SXSW, Toronto After Dark, the Boston Film Festival and New York Comic-Con.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top