Connect with us


Screamfest 2017 Scares Audiences with Announcement of Award-winning Films

Screamfest Skully Award

The Skully, the award of the 2017 Screamfest Horror Film Festival.

Screamfest 2017 Logo

The logo for the 2017 Screamfest Horror Film Festival.

Horror fans have another reason to be scared this Halloween season, as Screamfest honored the top movies, filmmakers and actors during its closing night award ceremony this past Thursday. The festival, which ran this year from October 10-19 at the TLC Chinese 6 Theatres in Hollywood, had its jury panel vote for the award winners.

‘Tigers Are Not Afraid’ received the most awards of the night with five, including Best Picture, Best Director – Issa López, Best Actor – Juan Ramón López, Best Actress – Paola Lara and Best Editing – Joaquim Marti. ‘The Laplace’s Demon’ was also highly praised, as it was honored with four awards, including Best Musical Score by Duccio Giulivi, Best Visual FX by Giordano Giulivi and Alessandro Zonfrilli, Best Special FX by Giordano Giulivi and Best Cinematography by Ferdinando D’Urbano. The closing night ceremony also honored Marianne Maddalena with a Career Achievement Award. As a film and television producer, she often collaborated with prolific genre filmmaker Wes Craven.

Screamfest has launched many careers by providing a platform for filmmakers and actors to showcase their latest work to horror film enthusiasts and general audiences. It’s also America’s largest and longest running horror movie festival.

Below is the complete list of the Screamfest 2017 award winners:

Best Picture – ‘Tigers Are Not Afraid’

Best Horror Comedy – ‘Dead Ant’

Best Director – Issa López – ‘Tigers Are Not Afraid’

Best Actor – Juan Ramón López – ‘Tigers Are Not Afraid’

Best Actress – Paola Lara – ‘Tigers Are Not Afraid’

Career Achievement Award – Marianne Maddalena

Best Musical Score – Duccio Giulivi – ‘The Laplace’s Demon’

Best Editing – Joaquim Marti – ‘Tigers Are Not Afraid’

Best Visual FX – Giordano Giulivi & Alessandro Zonfrilli – ‘The Laplace’s Demon’

Best Special FX Giordano Giulivi – ‘The Laplace’s Demon’

Best Cinematography – Ferdinando D’Urbano – ‘The Laplace’s Demon’

Best Makeup – Creature Effects – ‘Tragedy Girls’

Best Short – Holy Fatma – ‘Please Love Me Forever’

Best Unproduced Screenplay – ‘U-666’ by Jacqueline Perez

For more information on Screamfest, visit its official website, as well as its Facebook, Twitter and Instagram pages.

Screamfest Horror Film Festival Closing Night Award Ceremony
The TLC Chinese 6 Theatres, 6925 Hollywood Boulevard,Hollywood,California-90028
Starting on
October 19, 2017
Screamfest, America’s largest and longest running horror movie festival, awarded 2017's top movies, filmmakers and actors on Thursday, October 19, during its closing night ceremony.
Continue Reading

As a life-long fan of entertainment, particularly films, television and music, and an endless passion for writing, Karen Benardello decided to combine the two for a career. She graduated from New York's LIU Post with a B.F.A in Journalism, Print and Electronic. While still attending college, Karen began writing for Shockya during the summer of 2007, when she began writing horror movie reviews. Since she began writing for Shockya, Karen has been promoted to the position of Senior Movies & Television Editor. Some of her duties in the position include interviewing filmmakers and musicians, producing posts on celebrity news and contributing reviews on albums and concerts. Some of her highlights include attending such festivals and conventions as the Tribeca Film Festival, the New York Film Festival, SXSW, Toronto After Dark, the Boston Film Festival and New York Comic-Con.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top