Here’s the complete nominee list for the 25th Film Independent Spirit Awards. The awards ceremony will air live and uncut on Friday, March 5, 2010 at 8:00 p.m. PST/11:00 p.m. EST on IFC (Independent Film Channel).

(500) Days Of Summer – Producers: Mason Novick, Jessica Tuchinsky, Mark Waters, Steven J. Wolfe
Amreeka – Producers: Paul Barkin, Christina Piovesan
Precious – Producers: Lee Daniels, Gary Magness, Sarah Siegel-Magness
Sin Nombre – Producer: Amy Kaufman
The Last Station – Producers: Bonnie Arnold, Chris Curling, Jens Meuer

Ethan Coen, Joel Coen – A Serious Man
Lee Daniels – Precious
Cary Joji Fukunaga – Sin Nombre
James Gray – Two Lovers
Michael Hoffman – The Last Station

Alessandro Camon, Oren Moverman – The Messenger
Michael Hoffman – The Last Station
Lee Toland Krieger – The Vicious Kind
Greg Mottola – Adventureland
Scott Neustadter, Michael H. Weber – (500) Days Of Summer

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)
A Single Man – Director: Tom Ford
Producers: Tom Ford, Andrew Miano, Robert Salerno, Chris Weitz

Crazy Heart – Director: Scott Cooper
Producers: T Bone Burnett, Judy Cairo, Rob Carliner, Scott Cooper, Robert Duvall

Easier With Practice – Director: Kyle Patrick Alvarez
Producer: Cookie Carosella

Paranormal Activity – Director: Oren Peli
Producer: Jason Blum, Oren Peli

The Messenger – Director: Oren Moverman
Producers: Mark Gordon, Lawrence Inglee, Zach Miller

Sophie Barthes – Cold Souls
Scott Cooper – Crazy Heart
Cherien Dabis – Amreeka
Geoffrey Fletcher – Precious
Tom Ford, David Scearce – A Single Man

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the writer, director, and producer. Executive Producers are not listed
Big Fan – Writer/Director: Robert Siegel
Producers: Elan Bogarin, Jean Kouremetis

Humpday – Writer/Director/Producer: Lynn Shelton

The New Year Parade – Writer/Director: Tom Quinn
Producers: Steve Beal, Tom Quinn

Treeless Mountain – Writer/Director: So Yong Kim
Producers: Bradley Rust Gray, Ben Howe, So Yong Kim, Lars Knudsen, Jay Van Hoy

Zero Bridge – Writer/Director: Tariq Tapa
Producers: Josée Lajoie, Hilal Ahmed Langoo, Tariq Tapa

Maria Bello – Downloading Nancy
Nisreen Faour – Amreeka
Helen Mirren – The Last Station
Gwyneth Paltrow – Two Lovers
Gabourey Sidibe – Precious

Jeff Bridges – Crazy Heart
Colin Firth – A Single Man
Joseph Gordon-Levitt – (500) Days Of Summer
Souléymane Sy Savané – Goodbye Solo
Adam Scott – The Vicious Kind

Dina Korzun – Cold Souls
Mo’Nique – Precious
Samantha Morton – The Messenger
Natalie Press – Fifty Dead Men Walking
Mia Wasikowska – That Evening Sun

Jemaine Clement – Gentlemen Broncos
Woody Harrelson – The Messenger
Christian McKay – Me and Orson Welles
Raymond McKinnon – That Evening Sun
Christopher Plummer – The Last Station

Roger Deakins – A Serious Man
Adriano Goldman – Sin Nombre
Anne Misawa – Treeless Mountain
Andrij Parekh – Cold Souls
Peter Zeitlinger – Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director)
Anvil! The Story of Anvil – Director: Sacha Gervasi
Food, Inc. – Director: Robert Kenner
More Than A Game – Director: Kristopher Belman
October Country – Directors: Donal Mosher, Michael Palmieri
Which Way Home – Director: Rebecca Cammisa

BEST FOREIGN FILM (Award given to the director)
A Prophet (France) – Director: Jacques Audiard
An Education (UK/France)- Director: Lone Scherfig
Everlasting Moments (Sweden) – Director: Jan Troell
Mother (South Korea) -Director: Bong Joon-Ho
The Maid (Chile) – Director: Sebastián Silva

ACURA SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 16th annual Acura Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Acura.
Kyle Patrick Alvarez – Easier With Practice
Asiel Norton – Redland
Tariq Tapa – Zero Bridge

TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 15th annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.
Natalia Almada – El General
Jessica Oreck – Beetle Queen Conquers Tokyo
Bill Ross, Turner Ross – 45365

PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 13th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.
Karin Chien – The Exploding Girl, Santa Mesa
Larry Fessenden – I Sell the Dead, The House of the Devil
Dia Sokol – Beeswax, Nights & Weekends

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)
A Serious Man

Directors: Ethan Coen, Joel Coen
Casting Directors: Ellen Chenoweth, Rachel Tenner
Ensemble Cast: Richard Kind, Sari Lennick, Jessica McManus, Fred Melamed, Michael Stuhlbarg, Aaron Wolff

Facebook Comments

By admin

Managing Editor at, visit our About Us page for contact details.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *