According to The Hollywood Reporter, the Costume Designer’s Guild have released their nominees for this year’s Costume Designer’s Guild Awards. Among those listed are Amy Westcott’s work on Black Swan, Michael Kaplan’s work on Burlesque, and Jeffery Kurland’s work on Inception.

Other designers nominated include Jacqueline West for The Social Network, Ellen Mirojnick for Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps, Mark Bridges for The Fighter, Jenny Beavan for The King’s Speech, Mary Zophres for True Grit, Colleen Atwood for Alice in Wonderland, Sandy Powell for The Tempest, and Michael Wilkinson and Christine Bieselin Clark for TRON: Legacy.

Several special awards will be given out at the ceremony; Halle Berry will receive the Lacoste Spotlight Award because, according to the Guild, her “talent and career personifies an enduring commitment to excellence, including a special awareness of the role and importance of costume design.” Other special awards to be given include a posthumous induction of costume designer Michael Dennison into the Guild’s Hall of Fame due to his work on Eat Pray Love and Georgia O’Keefe. Joel Schumacher will be given the Distinguished Collaborator Award, and Julie Weiss will receive the Disaronno Career Achievement in Film and Television Award.

To see the full list of the nominees announced, click here.


By Monique Jones

Monique Jones blogs about race and culture in entertainment, particularly movies and television. You can read her articles at Racialicious, and her new site, COLOR . You can also listen to her new podcast, What would Monique Say.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *