Wizard Magazine has recently released their list of bests for 2008, a year jam-packed in comics with huge events, crossovers, solid indies, and groundbreaking issues. After carefully considering every single panel and thought bubble that’s crossed their paths in the past year, the winners have been announced. The list, which can be seen in the deluxe Gold collector’s issue of Wizard out November 25th, covers what the hardworking staff at Wizard are the best of 2008. Some of their selections are;

Best Writer: Jason Aaron (“Scalped”, “Ghost Rider”, “Wolverine”)
Best Artist: Leinil Yu (“Secret Invasion”)
Best Book: “Action Comics” (DC Comics)
Best Event: “Secret Invasion” (Marvel Comics)
Best Single Issue: “Y: The Last Man” #60 (DC/Vertigo)
Best Indie of the Year: “Kramers Ergot” 7 (Buenaventura Press)
Best Hero: “Captain America” (Marvel Comics)
Best Villain: Norman Osborn (Marvel Comics)
Best Revamp: “The Incredible Hercules” (Marvel Comics)
Best All-Ages title: “Tiny Titans” (DC Comics)
Best R-rated book: “The Boys” (Dynamite Entertainment)
Best Horror writer: Joe Hill (“Locke & Key”)
Best Cover Artist: Marko Djurdjevic (“Thunderbolts”, “Daredevil”)
Best Movie: “Iron Man” (Marvel Studios)

“Wizard’s very excited about presenting our picks for the best in comics of 2008 in this special all-new Gold collectors’ issue,” says Mike Cotton, Wizard Magazine managing editor. “We had a lot of fun—and fights—putting together our picks for the best writer, artist, book and movies of 2008, and we can’t wait to see the fans’ reaction.”

For more information about Wizard Magazine, visit Wizarduniverse.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *