‘Breaking Bad’ and ‘Modern Family’ won the most coveted trophies at last night’s 66th Primetime Emmy Awards. The two shows won Outstanding Drama Series and Outstanding Comedy Series, respectively, at the ceremony. The last season of the hit AMC show was awarded with its second trophy for best drama series, after also being recognized at last year’s ceremony. The acclaimed ABC comedy also made history by tying ‘Frasier’ for winning the best comedy series award five years in a row.

The 66th Primetime Emmy Awards, which was broadcast by NBC, was presented by the host of the network’s popular ‘Late Night’ talk show, Seth Myers. This marked the first year the comedian hosted the ceremony, which was held at the Nokia Theatre in Downtown Los Angeles.

A recurring theme throughout the ceremony, which honored the best of television that aired during the 2013-2014 season, was how series are progressively getting better and evolving. Meyers and the presenters throughout the evening continuously noted how the major networks aren’t the only ones to be presenting high quality programming, as cable and Internet streaming websites like Netflix are also broadcasting noteworthy series. While the networks have continuously pushed the limits of the realistic and modern social issues people are currently facing, the members of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences once again favored long-running series that are popular with fans.

Besides ‘Breaking Bad’ and ‘Modern Family’ once again winning the top awards of the ceremony last night, after also being honored last year, other repeat winners included ‘The Colbert Report’ for Outstanding Variety Series.’ ‘The Amazing Race’ once again won for ‘Outstanding Reality-Competition Program.’

All of the series acting awards were also given to repeat winners, including Jim Parsons, who was given his fourth Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series award as Dr. Sheldon Cooper on ‘The Big Bang Theory.’ Julia Louis-Dreyfus won her third straight Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series for her portrayal of Vice President Selina Meyer on ‘Veep.’

Bryan Cranston won his third Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series Emmy for his portrayal of ‘Walter White’ on Breaking Bad. Julianna Margulies was given her second Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series Award for her role of Alicia Florrick on ‘The Good Wife.’ Jessica Lange once was awarded her second Emmy for ‘American Horror Story,’ this time on the show’s third reincarnation, ‘Coven.’ She was presented with the Outstanding Lead Actress in a Miniseries or Movie, for her role as Fiona Goode.

Ty Burrell also won his second Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series award for his role of Phil Dunphy on ‘Modern Family.’ Aaron Paul was given his third Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series for his portrayal as Jesse Pinkman on ‘Breaking Bad.’ Anna Gunn was also a second-time winner in the Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series category for her role as Skyler White on ‘Breaking Bad.’

Other winners from The 66th Primetime Emmy Awards included:

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series: Allison Janney as Bonnie Plunkett on ‘Mom’

Outstanding Miniseries: ‘Fargo’

Outstanding Television Movie: ‘The Normal Heart’

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Miniseries or Movie: Benedict Cumberbatch as Sherlock Holmes on ‘Sherlock’

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Miniseries or Movie: Martin Freeman as Dr. John Watson on ‘Sherlock: His Last Vow’

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Miniseries or Movie: Kathy Bates as Delphine LaLaurie on ‘American Horror Story: Coven’

Outstanding Directing for a Comedy Series: ‘Modern Family,’ Episode: ‘Las Vegas,’ Directed by Gail Mancuso

Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series
: ‘True Detective,’ Episode: ‘Who Goes There,’ Directed by Cary Joji Fukunaga

Outstanding Directing for a Variety Special: Glenn Weiss for ’67th Tony Awards’

Outstanding Directing for a Miniseries, Movie or a Dramatic Special: ‘Fargo,’ Episode: ‘Buridan’s Ass,’ Directed by Colin Bucksey

Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series: ‘Louie,’ Episode: ‘So Did the Fat Lady,’ Written by Louis C.K.

Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series: ‘Breaking Bad,’ Episode: ‘Ozymandias,’ Written by Moira Walley-Beckett

Outstanding Writing for a Variety Special: ‘Sarah Silverman: We Are Miracles’

Outstanding Writing for a Miniseries, Movie or a Dramatic Special
: ‘Sherlock: His Last Vow,’ Written by Steven Moffat

Breaking Bad and Modern Family Win Big at 66th Primetime Emmy Awards

Written by: Karen Benardello

Facebook Comments

By Karen Benardello

As a graduate of LIU Post with a B.F.A in Journalism, Print and Electronic, Karen Benardello serves as ShockYa's Senior Movies & Television Editor. Her duties include interviewing filmmakers and musicians, and scribing movie, television and music reviews and news articles. As a New York City-area based journalist, she's a member of the guilds, New York Film Critics Online and the Women Film Critics Circle.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *