Connect with us

2014 San Diego Film Festival Announces Award Recipients


2014 San Diego Film Festival Announces Award Recipients

The 2014 San Diego Film Festival has announced its full line up of Competition and Audience Award recipients. The awards were presented at the end of the 13th edition of the festival, which was produced by the San Diego Film Foundation. The festival was held from September 24-28 in San Diego, California.

Director Rudolf Buitendach’s romantic family drama, ‘Where the Road Runs Out,’ led the awards ceremony, winning Best Narrative Feature and the U-T San Diego Award. The other 2014 Competition Award Winners include:

Best Documentary: ‘Waiting for Mamu’
Best International: ‘Schimbare’
Best Narrative Short: The Bravest and the Boldest’
Best Animated Film: ‘Dam Keeper’
Kumeyaay Award: ‘Sycuan: Our People. Our Culture. Our History’
Chairman’s Award: ‘The Hornet’s Nest’

The following films also won the 2014 Audience Awards:

Best Gala Film: ‘The Imitation Game’
Best Feature: ‘Cas & Dylan’
Best Documentary: ‘Waiting for Mamu’
Best Short: ‘Sure Thing’
Best International: ‘Noble’

A special tribute night event, “Variety’s Night of the Stars: A Tribute,’ also took place on September 25. The 2014 tribute award winners included Alan Arkin (inaugural Gregory Peck Award), Beau Bridges (Cinema Vanguard Award), Michelle Monaghan (Excellence in Acting Award), Alison Pill (Virtuoso Award), Saginaw Grant (American Legacy Award), Eli Roth (Visionary Filmmaker Award) and John Hill (2014 Chris Brinker Award).

For the complete awards list, visit the San Diego Film Festival’s official website. For more information on the festival, visit its Facebook and Twitter pages.

Founded in 2001, the San Diego Film Festival, currently produced by the San Diego Film Foundation, is the region’s premier showcase for outstanding U.S. and international independent filmmaking. The five-day event is an entertaining, enlightening and educational gathering that embraces the region’s diverse cultural landscape, enhances the arts community and expands the economic vitality of San Diego.

2014 San Diego Film Festival Announces Award Recipients

Written by: Karen Benardello

Continue Reading

As a life-long fan of entertainment, particularly films, television and music, and an endless passion for writing, Karen Benardello decided to combine the two for a career. She graduated from New York's LIU Post with a B.F.A in Journalism, Print and Electronic. While still attending college, Karen began writing for Shockya during the summer of 2007, when she began writing horror movie reviews. Since she began writing for Shockya, Karen has been promoted to the position of Senior Movies & Television Editor. Some of her duties in the position include interviewing filmmakers and musicians, producing posts on celebrity news and contributing reviews on albums and concerts. Some of her highlights include attending such festivals and conventions as the Tribeca Film Festival, the New York Film Festival, SXSW, Toronto After Dark, the Boston Film Festival and New York Comic-Con.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top