The soundtrack for the anticipated film adaption of ‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ features a star-studded lineup of artists on its soundtrack, Lionsgate and Republic Records have confirmed. The album will feature music from such Grammy Award-winning acts as Coldplay and Christina Aguilera, as well as Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Patti Smith.

Other top-charting artists to be featured on the sci-fi action adventure’s soundtrack are platinum-selling group The Lumineers and Lorde, the first female artist to top the Billboard Alternative Songs chart since 1996. Multi-platinum alternative rock band Imagine Dragons and UK singer-songwriter Ellie Goulding will also be joined by Grammy-nominated singer-songwriter Sia. Pop indie duo Phantogram and platinum-certified folk group Of Monsters and Men will also contribute tracks to the record.

‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ soundtrack, which has already seen its first release, features Coldplay’s ‘Atlas,’ which debuted at number one on the iTunes Overall Top Songs chart. The song is the first single the band has written and recorded for a motion picture soundtrack.

The soundtrack will be available in stores and through all digital retailers on November 19, just before the sequel opens on November 22. The album can now be pre-ordered via the film’s official online store. Those who pre-order the soundtrack before October 27 will have the chance to have their names printed on an exclusive ‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ poster. All pre-orders also unlock an instant download of ‘Atlas.’

The unveiling of the soundtrack’s complete listing celebrates the nine-week mark in Lionsgate’s “TickTock” countdown campaign, which reveals new developments each week through the worldwide release of the anticipated sequel. Fans are encouraged to visit The Hunger Games Explorer and by using#TickTock9 across all social media this week.

Lionsgate and Republic Records have released the following tracklist for the soundtrack:

1. ‘Atlas’ – Coldplay
2. ‘Silhouettes’ – Of Monsters and Men
3. ‘Elastic Heart’ – Sia (ft. The Weeknd & Diplo)
4. ‘Lean’ – The National
5. ‘We Remain’ – Christina Aguilera
6. ‘Devil May Cry’ – The Weeknd
7. ‘Who We Are’ – Imagine Dragons
8. ‘Everybody Wants To Rule The World’ – Lorde
9. ‘Gale Song’ – The Lumineers
10. ‘Mirror’ – Ellie Goulding
11. ‘Capital Letter’ – Patti Smith
12. ‘Shooting Arrows At The Sky’ – Santigold
13. ‘Place For Us’ – Mikky Ekko
14. ‘Lights’ – Phantogram
15. ‘Angel On Fire’ – Antony and the Johnsons

Lionsgate has released the following synopsis for ‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’:

‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ begins as Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence) has returned home safe after winning the 74th Annual Hunger Games along with fellow tribute Peeta Mellark (Josh Hutcherson). Winning means that they must turn around and leave their family and close friends, embarking on a “Victor’s Tour” of the districts. Along the way Katniss senses that a rebellion is simmering, but the Capitol is still very much in control as President Snow prepares the 75th Annual Hunger Games (The Quarter Quell) – a competition that could change Panem forever.

‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ is directed by Francis Lawrence, and produced by Nina Jacobson’s Color Force in tandem with producer Jon Kilik. The novel on which the film is based is the second in a trilogy written by Suzanne Collins that has sold over 65 million copies in print in the U.S. alone.

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire Soundtrack Featuring Best-Selling Acts

Written by: Karen Benardello

By Karen Benardello

As a graduate of LIU Post with a B.F.A in Journalism, Print and Electronic, Karen Benardello serves as ShockYa's Senior Movies & Television Editor. Her duties include interviewing filmmakers and musicians, and scribing movie, television and music reviews and news articles. As a New York City-area based journalist, she's a member of the guilds, New York Film Critics Online and the Women Film Critics Circle.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *